Bill Evans Trio – Emily (Helsinki 1969)

0

October 22, 2020 by kazuki49

This time, I’d like to introduce another YouTube video, which is,  “Bill Evans Trio – Emily (Helsinki 1969).” In this video, Bill Evans, a jazz pianist, and his trio members, Eddie Gomez(bass) and Marty Morell(drums) are playing the famous jazz standards, “Emily.” As you can see in the title, this video was filmed in 1969, far away from now. Thus, the video is all black and white. Well then, where do you think this video was taken? The answer is…At Ilkka Kuusisto’s home! Yes, I understand your feeling, wanna say “who the fxxk is that” ? Actually, he is a famous composer born in Helsinki, Finland. Though Bill Evans passed away in 1980, Ilkka Kuusisto is still alive.

Well, let’s get into the content. The video stars with Bill Evans saying, “Watch for this song, Emily, and that’s the title tune.” Then, he stars playing the intro with a calm nice touch and always hits my heart. After playing the intro and the melody part, he moves to the ad-lib part which is comfortable but somehow strong. As his solo goes, the drums and the bass arrange the rhythm, and that’s the part which I like the most in this video.

Since Bill Evans passed away approximately 20 years before I was born, apparently, I’ve never met Bill Evans. However, thanks to the technology, I can watch him and appreciate his wonderful music now in 2020. I’m now learning jazz piano, and one day, I’d like to play as he played. Thanks for reading!!

 


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar