Miss Representation

0

June 30, 2022 by mana181

In the last class, I saw the documentary “Miss Representation” and then I felt and thought several things.

I was shock to know that there are still discrimination and contempt for women, such as the fact that women were socially vulnerable and that they lost their self-esteem due to not having a perfect body. Of course, discrimination against women did not begin just now, and in the history, needless to say Showa era, and in the distant past, women had few rights and they were often in a lower position. Thus, it was so sad that the women discrimination still hasn’t disappeared.

It is caused not only by social prejudice but also by the media. In fact, some women feel pressured, and become too thin, do self-disgust, or act of self-injury as documentaries show. In my opinion, when the media is expressing sexual things, there are far more women than men. Surely some of them may be in demand, but I think it is more important to protect women than that demand. Therefore, I think the media should change the way they express those sexual things, improve them, or finish depicting them in a radical way.

The problem doesn’t go away so easily, but I hope it soon. In addition, I will do what I can for that purpose.

 


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar