A surveillance system in China

0

December 17, 2021 by hanako35

In today’s Media Analysis Discussion, one classmate introduced a video called “China-Surveillance state or way of the future?” to us. I learned a lot from this video, so I will write about this topic.

In China, there are many surveillance cameras wherever you go. All personal data of Chinese are managed by Chinese government. Although China is a officially democratic society, it sounds like a one-party dictatorship by Xi Jinping. According to the survey, there are around two hundred million surveillance cameras, while there are around 500 ones in Japan. The number of surveillance cameras in China ranks highest in the world. I was very surprised at Chinese conditions.

What impressed me most is classmates’ answers. One classmate said that if you believe in Chinese government, putting many surveillance cameras all over the country is a good way because people are protected by them. For me, I feel a little unpleasant when I see many cameras. I am very worried whether my personal data would be used illegally or I feel like a criminal.

Another interesting view is that what age we should have our mobile devices. When I have kids, I don’t want my kids to have smartphones when they are too young. Firstly, technology makes eyesight getting worse. Secondly, technology gives a bad impact on kids. Young children still don’t have the ability to judge whether it is accurate information or not. Through this video, I could learn social situations and the influence of technology advances deeply.


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar