My Favorite Book

1

May 29, 2021 by haruka297

The other day I read the book “Kim Ji Young born 1982” and I was deeply impressed, so today I would like to talk about this story. This novel was written by a Korean novelist but a translation of it was published in many foreign countries and people around the world were moved. The main theme is the discrimination against women in present-day South Korea. The main character Kim Ji Young suffers from the reality of a male dominant culture. When she was a student, she wondered why most of the class representatives were boys and why the name list in the class started with boys. During the job-hunting, the man passed and the woman failed although she had a more advanced academic background than him. After she got married, her husband’s mother nagged her to have a baby early and she had to quit the company although she really wanted to work more. There is the unfairness of men and women like this in not only South Korea but also many other countries and of course Japan too. We can’t think it’s someone else’s problem. I think any discrimination is unacceptable. I try to think what I can do in order to make society which has no discrimination.


1 comment »

  1. deadgawk says:

    Discrimination is one of worst things happening in the world right now . Humans make a rule themselves and they break the rule altogether , like racism is everywhere . can you tell me the book’s name in english? I Would like to check it out .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar