TV series Review: Gilmore Girls

0

November 27, 2016 by natsuko16

gilmore_girls_title_screen

Hello everyone. Today, I am going to write about a little bit different thing. Usually I wrote about movie but this time, about a TV series. Gilmore girls.

Let me first tell you. I love watching american TV series. I have finished TV series such as “Sex and the city”, “Gossip Girls”, “Drop Dead Diva”, “Prison Break”, and well, list will go on, but “Gilmore Girls” is quite different from other ones that I have finished.

It is not a super exciting kind, it is relaxing, calm, and “chill”, but you will slowly get addicted to it.  Trust me. I was not sure if I was enjoying this series and now I am watching the new season just came up on 25th of November on Netflix. (There are 7 original seasons in total, and new series on Netflix is coming up soon)

Plot

Story is about a  life of single mother Lorelai Gilmore and her daughter Rory, in a small town Starts Hollow, Connecticut. Series focuses on their relationship, romance, friendships, school and career, and sometimes about social class. Lorelai’s parents are very wealthy and at the top of social class.

In a first season, Rory is in high school, and studying so hard to get into Harvard University. At the end of the season 7, Rory is graduating from University (I will not mention which one). As you can see, this is a very long series.

Interesting Points

Although this is a very relaxing series, if you pay a close attention, there are some points that can be discussed. As mentioned, social class matter or single parenting and so on. For example, how different it is to grow up privileged and grow up without, and the life for the ones who “have” and who “does not have”.

Also, it does not show the hard time of single parenting, but it focuses on how great and strong their mother-daughter relationship is.

Maybe because Stars Hollow is a small town, the town seems like they lack of racial diversity as well. Though you will see Rory’s best friend, who is a Korean girl, and her family, most of the people in town are Caucasian. You will see some non-american people as maids for Emily ans Richard Gilmore’s family as well. Michel is the only one Black character in the show, who is a concierge at the inn which Lorelai runs. He talks with exaggerated French accent.

gilmore

Comments

If you like shows which is not fast paced, and you enjoy romance comedy, I suggest you to start watching this show. However, this is a very long series, so I do not know if you will finish like me. This is not a movie that you can finish in 2 hours, you need to somewhat “commit”.

I watch this show while I wear makeup in the morning.


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar