Translation Workshop by Daniel Gile

0

July 16, 2016 by natsuki152

After the IE Core class, I participated in translation workshop by Daniel Gile today. He came to Aoyamagakuin University from France and he is a former technical translator and has been working as an International Association of Conference Interpreters.

He gave us an assignment and we tried to translate it into Japanese, and he explained some tips to make good translation. He is a professional as a translater, but he said that he has been struggling to translate and sometimes he made some funny mistakes. He has a good career of translation and he actually translated in many kinds of situations, so his talk by his experience was really interesting and inspired me a lot.

One of the classes I took this year, I learn how to translate English into Japanese,  and I found how difficult it is to translate. We need not only English skills but also we need to good at Japanese, we need to know lots of difficult Japanese words which we seldom use in our daily life.

I haven’t decided what I want to be in the future, but through this workshop, I thought it would be really great if I could become a translater like him. I strongly feel that I would like to get job which is related to English, but there are lots of options. I am going to carefully select suitable job for me which I can enjoy working;)


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar