West Side Story(1961,America)

2

June 29, 2015 by go77

westsidestory2__140305174706

This movie is the modern version of one of the Shakespeare’s work, Romeo and Juliet. The screenwriter replace confrontation between young men from Puerto Rico and the native hooligans for that of original ones. It expresses Hatred of two group and the love  of a clerk of  a general store, Tony and a  Puerto Rican woman, Maria with Neo-classic music composed by Leonard Bernstein  and passionate dance. Encounter of two at the dance party and declaring of love at the emergency staircase hint the original one. When i was a high school student, I staged a play of the movie, so i really love this movie so much. I especially like music on this movie. It’s because there are various melody of music like powerful,beautiful and calm music. Therefore, once we listen the music, we can understand what the characters want to do or say, and how they are feeling easily. And I think the background and the effect of picture are also important. eccentric and intensive or dark color back ground on the duet of 2 hooligan group impress us. Of course, the story is so wonderful and tells us the society at that time and  message. However,  The movie tells us the power of music.


2 comments »

  1. yui says:

    I wanted to see you acting on the stage! I’ve watched this film before and your review reminded me of the feeling of when I first watched that movie. I also love the songs of this movie, and I think those songs are effective for this movie.

  2. nanami75 says:

    I had watched West Side Story through the play. I remember that dances were passionate as you say. I want to watch this movie!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar