How I Overcame Insecurities

0

November 4, 2022 by fumika212

As you know Japan has a very unified beauty standard and I felt I wasn’t very beautiful because of that. I have monolids, curly hair, small nose and chubby belly. My inferiority was at its highest when I was in Junior high. But I gradually started to notice that I’m not the only one with insecurities. Beauty standards are also different in each countries and I could be ugly/beautiful in some countries. Beauty standards in Japan seemed no longer an important thing to me.
I also started wearing make up in high school. Before that, I was insecure that even wearing make up wouldn’t make me prettier. But when I started learning how to put on make up, I realized that it helped me emphasize parts of my face that I like. I sometimes do feel insecure but I’ve also realized the importance of accepting yourself being insecure.
On the Internet and even in person I often hear people telling others that they’re too fat or skinny. Making comments about someone’s appearance Hurt someone’s feelings more than you would expect. It is better if we don’t make any negative comments at all. From my experience I became more sensitive about how others would feel.


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar