Along Came Betty | Peter Beets Trio with Kurt Rosenwinkel

0

December 25, 2020 by kazuki49

Another time to introduce a YouTube video called “Along Came Betty | Peter Beets Trio with Kurt Rosenwinkel”. What I most like about this video is the solo played by Peter Beets. He is crazy. I completely do not understand how he built that kind of solo. Why I think so? One of the reasons is that he improvises amazingly though he uses the black keys a lot. In my opinion, playing the white keys makes the improvisation easier. In fact, there are a lot of jazz songs that doesn’t require you to use the black keys so much in order to let us improvise easily. However, in this song, “Along came Betty”, there is a need to use the black keys more than the usual jazz songs. And surprisingly, he plays it as if he is playing in an easy key. When I tried to copy this improvisation, it was by far the hardest than any other copies that I’ve done before. Once I listened his play, I came to like him a lot. Still, Bill Evans is my most favorite, but to be honest, I have to admit that Peter Beets has more technique and piano skills. I cannot imagine playing like him, but I would like to one day!


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar