Movie Review — East is East

0

July 21, 2018 by mami18

I watched this movie in last IE Core class. When I heard the title of this movie in the beginning, I couldn’t expect what kind of movie this was. This movie is drawn about family which have 2 different religions between parents. This comedy movie was made in UK in 1999.

After watching this, I considered 3 points.

Firstly, I was surprised that there are people who are decided a person who they marry with. In this story, the oldest son, Nigel was decided his wife by his father, George even though he didn’t want to marry with her. If I were him, I would persuade my father at first. Even so my father forces to marry with a person who I don’t want to marry with, I would escape from my family.

Next, polygyny. It means men can marry with more than 1 woman. I searched the Internet for this, surprisingly, there are more countries that approve polygyny than countries that don’t approve. I agree with monogamy because parents can spend more money on their children.

Lastly, I thought that Japanese including me were less interested in religion. Most of countries around the world have religion. I think globalization is expanding around the world, so the opportunities that we meet and talk will increase more in the future. We can know about culture, history and identity of people if we learn about religion. So, we should learn and understand more about it.


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar