Japanese entertainment on the world stage

0

January 22, 2024 by ai111

I thought Japan is known for its anime and food. But not only those, literature and film are also areas in which Japan excels according to an English textbook I read today.
Author Haruki Murakami with the success of books has been frequently mentioned as a candidate to win the Nobel prize.

The textbook says that the 1950 release of Akira Kurosawa’s Rashomon has brought Japanese film onto the world stage. I’m ashamed to say I haven’t seen the renowned film, so I have to see it.

There’s one more movie I have to see. It’s “Moe no Suzaku” by Naomi Kawase introduced in this book as one of capable and respected filmmakers in Japan.

I saw a western guy like “Japanophile” in a video, by the way. I was both happy and funny to see it. I feel I am living in a completely different age. (It’s a world apart.)

Anyway, there seems to be no doubt that Japan has commanded the world’s attention for animation, food, literature, and film.


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar