Japanese Commercial on the Train

0

January 17, 2024 by ai111

In the past few years, there has been a rapid increase in advertisements on cosmetic surgery, hair removal, and slimming on trains and on the Internet. Some of these advertisements, such as “double eyelids are more beautiful,” “It’s embarrassing if you don’t have hair loss,” and “You won’t be attractive if you are fat,” ……, are noticeable because they stimulate people’s physical characteristics and the associated complexes that make them anxious. These are what are called “complex ads.
Complex ads stimulate a sense of self-inferiority, that one’s appearance or physical characteristics are inferior to those of others. They increase lookism and discrimination.

I wonder how women who see complex ads every day actually feel about them. I have come to feel that having body hair on my body is something to be ashamed of when I see hair removal ads on trains and Youtube ads. I also began to feel insecure that people might think I was hairy because of the ads. Also, when I went abroad, there were no advertisements about appearance, and I wondered if this was something specific to Japan.

I believe that repeatedly seeing insecure complex advertisements increases one’s anxiety about one’s own body shape and appearance. In order to love ourselves as we are, we should stop such complex advertisements.


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar