Benefits of ASMR

0

July 16, 2023 by rin238

Have you ever listened to ASMR before? Recently, I have been listening to ASMR before going to bed. Whenever I listen to it, I can easily get to sleep well somehow. I had curious about the phenomenon, so I searched for why this time!

Before starting, I’ll teach you some fundamental information about it. First of all, ASMR stands for Autonomous Sensory Merdian Response. It is said to be a phenomenon in which some people experience a physical sensation in response to auditory and visual stimuli, and it has been one of the popular genres on YouTube.

As you know, many audiovisual stimuli like the following make ASMR content:

  • whispering or speaking softly
  • tapping, scratching, or crinkling sounds
  • slow hand movements like hands rubbing
  • repetitive tasks (ex. pencil-writing, page-turning or keyboard-typing sounds)

Personally, I especially like tapping, hand rubbing, and pencil-writing sounds, but regardless of ASMR, whispering is also my favorite. I don’t know why, but I love both talking in a whisper and listening to some talks in a whisper. Maybe some people sympathize with me about it.

According to healthline, ASMR has also benefits scientifically.

  1. improved mood
  2. better sleep
  3. pain relief
  4. deeper concentration

I totally agree with the above because I have experienced all of them! As for the second one, it is said this is because it helps your brain to release endorphins (one of hormones, reduce pain) and neurohormones. I was surprised to hear this.

Lastly, I recommend one of my favorite ASMR YouTubers: Chocolate Cacao. To be exact, he is not an ASMR YouTuber; he is one who makes a lot of chocolate sweets on YouTube, but I think his short video can be said mostly ASMR because the sound of cooking sweets like chocolate-cutting or whipping sounds makes me very relaxed. However, there is a warning: every time you watch his videos, he makes very delicious sweets, so you might become hungry. If you are interested, please go watch his video!


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar