“Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (played by Oscar Peterson).”

0

October 20, 2020 by kazuki49

This time, I would like to introduce another video from YouTube, which is, “Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (played by Oscar Peterson).” Like my posts before, this is one of the greatest jazz standards. While this title is called “Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars,” sometimes it is written as “Corcovado,” which is the name of the mountain that the “Christ the Redeemer statue” is on the top. It seems that the original song was made in Brazil and the lyrics were Portuguese. Anyway, the lyrics don’t matter to me because I listen to only the instrumental version.

So, in this video, Oscar Peterson, who is one of the greatest jazz pianists, is playing with his members, Ray Brown (double bass,) and Ed Thigben (drums.) The song starts with a quiet soft melody until Oscar begin his magnificent solo. The thing I really like in this video is this gap. Oscar is a pianist famous for his rapid playing, and in this song, it is remarkable because of the first quiet part. What a beautiful play it is…

Also, I like the title of this song, and the title of the album named “We Get Requests.” It has a good taste in naming, I think. Moreover, I like the image of this album. Wow, it seems like I like the whole thing of this album. Well…yes, that’s true. I want to say thank you to Oscar and his members recording this gem. Wooo, time to listen to it again…!!!


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar