Shakespeare or Kanye West?

1

November 23, 2019 by yuto8232

I am taking a debate class now and just the other day my teacher showed us several videos that people discuss who is more relevant, Shakespeare or Kanye West. This seems casual even though the debate was taken place in a formal venue which was Oxford University. A rapper also talks about why Kanye West is more relevant in the video, which is funny because he is witty and makes some sarcastic remarks towards the affirmative side in his argument. What is more, he interjects every speech even when the other team tells the audience why they are right.

For me, personally, I think that Shakespeare is more relevant than Kanye West because his plays will never die. As a matter of fact, Shakespeare’s plays such as Hamlet, Macbeth, The Merchant of Venice have been still played for hundreds of years after his death. On top of that, Shakespeare had an enormous impact on not only writers in his generations but also those who in the next generations. I believe that Shakespeare made a building block of play. Therefore Shakespeare is more relevant.

On the other hand, some people assert that Kanye West is more relevant because of his influence. To be honest, I do not know much about who Kanye West is, which means that he is not relevant. All I know about him is he sings rap and his songs sometimes make a controversy. When I was asked why I Shakespeare is more relevant in class, I answered like that. My teacher told me that Kanye West cannot be famous for only me. That was hilarious. It is said that his songs contain various messages such as the education system, religious problems in the US, which reflects on the status quo.


1 comment »

  1. taiga18 says:

    Interesting!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar