Your Body Language May Shape Who You Are [Ted Talks review]

0

October 5, 2020 by ayano54

“Your Body Language May Shape Who You Are: The benefits of power posing ”

-Amy Cuddy

 

This is one of my favorite TED Talks which always encourages me when I’m weak-kneed.

In fact, this TED talk has been viewed more than 50 million times and is the second-most-viewed TED Talk. Its presenter is Amy Cuddy, an American social psychologist, author and speaker.

She reveals that our non-verbal behaviors influence not only how other people think and feel about us, but also how do we think and feel about ourselves. Therefore, standing like Wonder Woman (power pose) for a few minutes can basically lead us to physiologically, in some ways, look like someone who has an enormous amount of power and makes us feel much more confident about ourselves.

 

and she conclude with this sentence; Do not Fake it till you make it, but fake it till you become it.

Her presentation is quite persuasive since she brings up her own experience. Some people are sceptical about her theory, but I found myself agreeing with her opinion after watching this Ted talk.

Before swimming matches, I always spread my both arms and straighten myself up so that I can mark my best time, and oppositely, if I forget to do it, I can’t improve my personal best. I was thinking that it was kind of jinx, but her Ted talk explained about it.


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar