French youth line up to join the military after Paris attacks

0

November 25, 2015 by mao15

    

       Since the terrorist attacks in the Paris area in November 13, 2015, the number of daily applications received by France’s armed forces has increased dramatically. This attack in Paris take 130 lives and injured more than 300 people. People signing up to join the military went up to about 1,500 from an average of 500. The mass media asked why young people join armed forces. There were the answers like “What happened last Friday really convinced me that was what I wanted to do; I felt so powerless watching TV,” and “I wanted to be helpful. That’s why I am here.”

       French President Francois Hollande called the attacks in Paris “an act of war” After attacks in Paris, it happened that the country’s youth are doing their part by flooding army recruitment and information centers with calls and emails asking how they can help.

       Furthermore, It was reported that the French army’s 2015 budget is 31.4 billion euros ($33.5 billion), which is the country’s third-largest expenditure after education and debt repayments. In addition, it was also the second-biggest national military budget in Europe after the U.K.

 

        I think the November 13 terrorist attacks in the Paris area is an incident that have an impact on society. When I heard this news, the problem of terrorism is serious and a lot of innocent people are injured, so I was deeply shocked. I was surprised that young people who join the military in Paris were the almost same age as I. I think those people experienced terrorism in their city, so they think they have to do what they can do and they want to help other people who suffer from the fear of terrorism. I think their action is brave, so it is important to take action to eliminate terrorism and think what we can do now.

 


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar